The Internal Revenue Service increased the standard mileage rate for business miles by 1.5 cents to 57.5 cents per mile. This became effective as of January 1, 2015. The California Workers’ Compensation Institute explains that this means the mileage rate for workers’ compensation will go up. Those injured workers who have to travel for medical-related treatment or to evaluate their injures must now be compensated to 57.5 cents per mile. The previous rate was 56 cents per mile, and that rate should be applied for 2014 travel.
California law requires that administrators reimburse injured workers for travel expenses, and the rate or reimbursement is directly tied to the IRS business rate. This reimbursement applies to travel to pharmacies, doctors, etc. Expenses related to parking, tolls, and public transportation are all expenses that can be reimbursed as well. Travel costs are generally paid within 60 days of submitting a claim for them.
For more information about what types of expenses can be reimbursed for work-related injuries, contact an experienced workers’ compensation attorney. The attorneys at Robbins & Struck are happy to help you if you have been injured on the job. Call 408-848-1113 for a free consultation.